Colt Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am attempting to polish a matt stainless pistol. I am not concerned about reducing the re sale value I just want a custom shooter that I will personalize, hang on to and shoot. I have no real experience with this but I have aquired a Redwing 2 speed lathe and am looking for advice on materials and techniques to get started. I realize I will not get a mirror factory like finish starting off with a factory matt finish but just want to do the best I can with what I have. So what type of wheel and compound to start with and what to go progressivly finer with? Should I use different size wheels? How about a Dremel for tight spots? I know there is allot to this but since I am working on a pistol that I would ask the big brush stroke question here first. Any experience would be appreciated. Thanks, Richee

·
Registered
6,466 Posts
I was going to do this and then seen some examples that had been done and the destruction of the rollmarks and Rampant Colt and just couldn't bring mysef to do it. I am not worried about the resale either, but to me the improvement in finish was way offset by the destruction to the markings. YMMV

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,876 Posts
Power polishing is NOT a good move unless you've developed the skills and technique.
This is why a bad blue job is bad, it's not the bluing, it's the poor quality polishing.
It's because the polisher doesn't do enough to develop and maintain the skills.

Power polishing is how sharp corners and edges get rounded off, defining lines between the side of a frame and the top get blurred, holes get dished out, lettering and stamps get buffed out, and you get waves and ripples in the flats and along the barrel.
Nothing looks worse than a gun that's been over polished by a inexperienced polisher.