Colt Forum banner

Best Colt Python Era

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,925 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Colt Python collecting - ok, I have one (1969 4" Nickel in excellent condition) and am amazed at the craftsmanship for a hand made work of art.

Which "era" does the community favor for: Collectability, shootability, craftsmanship, fit/finish, Best Looking Grips, best box if it matters etc.

A: 1955 to mid-60's
B: Mid-60's to Late 60's
C: Late 60's to Early 70's (73, 74)
D: Early 70's to Late 80's
E: 1990 to 2003

My pick: B as I really like the second gen grips.

Thoughts! Looking for my 2nd python and need some guidance.
Thanks!

Kraaaken

·
Registered
3,928 Posts
Mine 6-inch blue Python is from 1978, same year as we married but I voted for the early guns. I like the polish job on them better, the hollow lug feature, and the gorgeous fully checkered stocks. Wish I had thought to get one before the prices on the '50s Pythons accelerated into the stratosphere.

·
Registered
3,846 Posts
I'm going to be Brash and Ruffle some feathers and say anyone who votes other than "A" is only because they haven't held one to compare to the others!

·
Registered
501 Posts
I feel the early 60's guns do not give up much (if any) to the 50's guns. While I don't own a '55 or '56 I do have a couple from '57 and '58.

·
Registered
1,680 Posts
I once had a '59 gun. Shooter grade only because a PD had engraved an evidence number inside the cylinder window (at least you couldn't see it with the action closed). I've never had a Python that compared. I wish I'd kept it, but I sold it to buy something else before I became quite as enamored with Colts as I am now.

It was my first Python and I've not had a chance to buy another of its like - basically a new, but shooter grade gun with correct stocks! Paid $600 OTD in a pawn shop for it - a few or more years back. :)

·
Registered
714 Posts