Colt Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
807 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I would like to know the correct(Step by step?)proceedure, for removing and replacing a Coltmaster rear sight on an Colt, Officer's Model Special revolver(And, to avoid damaging the gun or the "Rare" Coltmaster sight, in any way?)? I have never done this before-so, I need the advice from some of you "Experts"? Thanks, in advance!

·
Registered
97 Posts
Looking down on the revolver the sight is removed to the left.

With a screwdriver that fits the sight windage adjustment screw start moving the sight toward the left (latch) side of the revolver. Go slowly. When you've gone a bit you'll see a spring. Continue slowly, the spring bears on a horseshoe shaped piece that contains several "bumps" on the inner face. When the horseshoe shaped piece is fully exposed, remove it with a small pair of pliers (a bit of rotation may be required). Continue turning the screw slowly, being careful not to loose the screw or the spring when they are freed from the female threads on the underside of the sight. At this point the sight may be removed. Assemble in reverse order, with care.

Bob

·
Registered
807 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
bfoster:

Whenever I reassemble the the Coltmaster sight, do I place the horseshoe shaped piece, against the spring, before I begin tightening the screw, to move the sight back into it's proper position again-or?

I appreciate your help regarding this matter-as I have never done anything like this before!

·
Registered
807 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I should clarify my first reply, as follows:

1)In your instructions, you said to remove the horseshoe shaped piece, once it was fully exposed. But, at this point, neither the screw or, the spring, has not yet been released from the female threads, so.......