Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m no expert and want to understand why Pythons continue to go up? Don’t get me wrong, I bought a 4" in 99% condition about 2 years ago and they look really good. Just seems like there are a lot out of them out there but I don’t see the 2.5” models as much. My only regret is I didn’t buy a few years ago when they were much less.

I’m just trying to learn and hope to get your responses. Why do they continue to hold and increase value? Also, will they continue to go up in value?

Thanks
Greg

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yep, saw that post. That post seemed to go more into The Walking Dead..! I get it’s Colts most successful post war gun and they are gorgeous. Just thought there might be more to it.

I was just curious so thank you for responding.

Thanks
Greg

·
Registered
5,847 Posts
Why is Hip-Hop the predominate sound track for most TV commercials today? Why do people buy red sports cars?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Got it. I remember there was an article in the American Rifleman a few years ago about pythons and they expected the prices to level off. They were wrong!

·
Registered
242 Posts
I shoot my 38 Python every week in my bullseye match, wipe it down with WD 40, put it in the bag and do it again. Shot a 277 last week and a 270 tonight. Glad I bought 2 in the mid 90s. It's sister 38 was shot in double action matches for years and now is shot annually in the Marine league open match here in pa I would sell neither. Can't imagine what I would replace them with.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,225 Posts
It's the law of supply and demand.

People want to own fine items like older, expensive cars and older no longer in production guns.
As these are bought up and are taken off the market, the demand outstrips the supply and prices rise.