Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I walked away from a deal today but still have the chanch to buy.The gun is a blue 6 inch Python serial #944.Condition is about 98% and has no box.I'd say that because it does show rings around the chambers but nothing else.Held in light no touchup can be distinguished or evidence of any reblueing.Grips are correct and still has sharp chekering.I noticed the front sight is different then others and the ramp leading up to the front sight looks maybe different then later models.The front lug is suppose to be hollow too,,boy I thought I knew a lot about Pythons but I'm still learning.Is the gun worth $1550
Joe

·
Banned
1,130 Posts
normally that would be high in my opinion, but the 3 digit serial will add a lot. gun would have to be totally correct. gun was produced in 1956 second yr. of production.

·
Registered
778 Posts
Man, thats a tough call Chevis. If it had a box, and papers, it would be in my opinion on the mark, but without a box, it becomes a judgement call on your part as to how badly you want a 3 serial # Python.

Good luck on your call. I feel your pain!

I meant this reply for Chevis, but my pre dinner Johnny Walker must have clouded my mind.

·
Registered
345 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well I got till early December to decide.This was at a gunshow this weekend in Tulsa and I told him to bring it back.He was about 10% or more too high on all his guns.I did buy a 6 inch blue 1974 gun with a serial numbered box and papers for around $850 or so.I did a 2 gun trade to my table buddy to get it.I'd had it for $700 like he did but was busy with someone else and he grabbed him first.I'm still cussing him,but I got the gun.I just had to let one of my favorites go to get it,,,a S&W 657 Lew Horton.The 41 mag is a helluva caliber.I fell in love with it,but there will be another.