Colt Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi all,

I'm a historical mystery author who writes a series set in 1900 San Francisco. I try to be thorough in my research, so it really nags at me when a reader points out a perceived flaw in my research. I was hoping you all could put my mind at ease!

In a scene, I have a character who picked up a Colt Storekeeper from a pawn shop. No other details are given about it, except that I have this happen: '…he opened the cylinder and ejected the cartridges into the palm of his hand.'

A reader said this in a review about that part (of course I can't respond to the review, but I'd feel better hearing from experts): 'A Colt Storekeeper is Colt SAA with 102 mm barrel and without extractor so Atticus will need pencil or something similar to extract cartridges from their chambers. It is good to do some research when mentioning historical weapons.'

Based on my research, I read that they did make Storekeepers with the option of an ejector as well as varying barrel lengths. But the Sheriff's model doesn't have one. Am I correct? Also, I read in another forum that it is possible to tilt a Storekeeper at a 45 degree angle and the cartridges can slide right out, or at least enough to get out with a fingernail.

I'm no expert, so I appreciate your answers.

·
Registered
5,193 Posts
Hi, people do like to be accurate about some crazy things.

If your character is removing LOADED rounds, they will fall out of the chambers as he turns the gun facing up, with the gate open. If shot, they sometimes stick and do need something to push them out. I would leave the sentence as it is. You could change "ejected" to be "dropped" I guess.

·
Registered
1,506 Posts
well first things first
this individual does not know what they are talking about