Colt Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,450 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone know how many of these were made with and without the scene stamped into the cylinder? Also, would one built with out the cylinder scene be more likely for a military order? I have one that was made in 1862 and lacks the cylinder scene, however, it has perfectly stamped into the cylinder, just the patent date. Thanks in advance. I

·
Administrator
7,327 Posts
Re: question on an 1860 Army 44

It's my understanding that only the fluted cylinder model had no scene . All round cylinders had the navy scene . Your's doesn't have it , so I guess anything within reason is possible . However , unless it was a Rare gun intended for engraving , the scene has simply worn away . They were only lightly rolled onto the cylinder where the serial and patent line were apparently stamped . These are just my observations . I'm not an expert on the 1860 .

Mine is well worn , but with good markings . The cylinder scene is gone . The other numbers are present on the cylinder .

·
Premium Member
1,450 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

I know that mine has not worn away as the patent date stamping is still crisp and clean. The gun over all has very little actual wear. I found another one on Cabelas not too long ago identical to mine without the scene.
Also, what would another digit stamped under the serial number mean? On the frame and trigger guard there is a "2" stamped under the serial number which is 41365. The barrel assembly is serial number 41376 with a "2" stamped over the top of that serial number. The fact that its only 11 digits off from the original number seems to me that the barrel assembly was mated at the factory or under conditions of a military shipment where several 1860s models were there with close serial numbers. I would really like to post some photos of this gun. I am definately going to get a factory letter on this one.

·
Registered
1,386 Posts

Hi Moosedog,