Colt Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have recently come full circle and become interested in late model Colt revolvers. They are works of art. I am very new to these but not new to collecting. I was looking for a NOS Blued Cobra with the ramped sight and extractor shroud. I came across this Cobra in very good, possibly unfired condition on an online auction. I tossed in a fairly low bid ( I think) and to my surprise won.
I have several questions. Is this considered a second or third issue? Are these grips original to this Cobra?
The first four serial numbers​ of this pistol is AC00xx. What is the year of manufacture?
Thanks.

·
Registered
10,821 Posts
That's a post-'72 Cobra with the barrel shroud. The rubber stocks are from a strike period Agent or Commando Special...1986 in particular as they're 150th Anniversary stocks and Colt discontinued the Cobra in 1981.

Are you sure of the serial number? I don't see any numbers starting with "AC" in the information I have. It's possible it's a "clean up" piece made up of leftover parts after regular production was ended. The closest serial number prefixes I see close to that are Agent models with "AA" or "AB" prefixes scattered throughout the 1980s through 1990. It's possible it was intended to be an Agent and a leftover Cobra barrel installed...basically a cleanup gun. Only an archives letter will tell for sure. Those rubber stocks could be original if it was made in 1986.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
That's a post-'72 Cobra with the barrel shroud. The rubber stocks are from a strike period Agent or Commando Special...1986 in particular as they're 150th Anniversary stocks and Colt discontinued the Cobra in 1981.