Colt Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
932 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just got back from seeing the exhibition "Recapturing the West" at the Society of the Four Arts in Palm Beach, Fl. I've been a student of Western history all of my life & I have never seen such a display. The collection belongs to William Koch;he is responsible for the exhibition. Loosely divided into 4 groupings-Indians & the US Military, Lawmen & Badmen with a side of Bordello & Saloon history, Mining & Cowboys.I couldn't list any significant amount of what we saw but how about Colt SAA serial number 1, a cased set of a Colt Dragoon & a Walker revolver presented by Samuel Colt to Capt. Walker in 1847, the S&W Model 3 used by Robert Ford to shoot Jesse James,
Wyatt Earp's Sharps rifle & Model 3, a Winchester 1 of 100 M 1873 & a 1 of 1000 M 1876, 2 Hawken rifles, the entire series of Colt revolvers from Patterson to M 1889, a Bridgeport rig & Meanea, Frazier, Gallup & Collins gun leather & the finest collection of original Frederic Remington & Charles Russell paintings & sculptures you could imagine.Last year Koch bought the only authenticated ferrotype photograph of William Bonney for 2.3 Million-it was displayed in the exhibition. Sitting Bull's breast plate worn at the battle of Little Big Horn, a lock of George Custer's hair & his camp chair,a playing card signed by John Wesley Hardin-I could go on & on.The exhibit was originally scheduled to close tomorrow but has been extended to April 29. If there is any way to see it,please do-you'll be astounded.
Regards,
turnerriver

·
Registered
5,351 Posts
Is this something that will be moving around and exhibiting at other cities and states?? Sounds very interesting.

·
Premium Member
1,840 Posts
Sounds like a great exhibition. Would love to see it. If I had his billions$$$ I'd be vying for the same one of the kind western items. I'd like to think I'd be willing to share like he is with the exhibition instead of hoarding them away.

·