Colt Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
817 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reloading since the late 1960's but not a whole lot recently especially with small pistol cartridges.

Are any of you currently reloading for the Colt 32 Short or Long version? If so what bullet or bullet mold do you use and what source? I believe I can make cases from a 32 S&W. I wish to shoot these in an 1892 Marlin lever action and possibly in a Colt New Line that is in good condition.

I made hand sizing and seating dies for my benchrest rifles so I would make similiar ones for the 32 Colt long. I will have to make a set of swagging dies for the 32 S&W cases.

Thanks for any input,
Dennis

·
Registered
223 Posts
I’ve loaded .32 Colt for years. Colt DAs, S&W DAs, Marlin 1892, Ballard #2, Remington #2 Rolling Block, and several British Rook rifles. The British .32 CF is the same as the Colt cartridge. The Marlin and the Ballard have the reversible firing pin so rimfire or center fire.
That said, I was lucky to have found several boxes of Winchester shorts in a pawn shop in rural Kentucky and then bought several boxes of Remington un-primed brass from a friends estate. I have never had to make brass, but if you have the ability to make a swag die then you are well on the way. The S&W is larger than the Colt. Let us know how it works.

For molds, I have Lyman 6 gang molds that cast 93 gr. and 120 gr. bullets. I also use an old Ideal reloading tool that is marked “.32 CF” and casts a heeled bullet. This works well in the rifles I shoot. I also use the Hornaday hollow base, wad cutter 115 gr. in my pistols. Mild load of Unique or Bullseye makes a nice target load. Will not feed in the Marlin.

Hope this helps and warning, it gets addictive dealing with these small cartridges.

·
Registered
2,508 Posts