Colt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I want to seek your experienced comments on a Colt revolver that has been in my family for generations. I'm really not an expert but I researched a little and the gun looks like a Dragoon but I can't find any similar ones online that can give me a benchmark for more details. Maybe you can comment on it.
The grips seem to be ivory and the body of the gun is engraved. I believe there is a small piece missing just in front of the cylinder but it should be around somewhere here in my house. The serial number is 43465. All the parts have the same serial except one. A metal piece that holds the handle in place from the back has a different serial number. I looked the serial up and couldn't find a match. I was hoping somebody here could shed some light as to why that might be.

I'm sorry about the poor quality of the pictures, but any comments or observations would be really appreciated!

mmexport1406509985179.jpg DSC_0335.jpg mmexport1406510040814.jpg mmexport1406510058564.jpg

·
Registered
2,412 Posts
Looks to be either an 1860 Army (.44 caliber) or an 1861 Navy (.36 caliber). If it is the army model, the fluted cylinder is quite rare. The ivory grips, engraving and what appears to be either silver or
nickel plating all add to the rarity and value. I would suggest having it professionally appraised. It is most likely worth many thousands of dollars! Good luck!

·
Premium Member
4,683 Posts
You have an 1862 Police, .36 caliber. The piece that is missing is called the wedge. It hold the barrel assembly tight to the frame.

·
Registered
31 Posts