Colt Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am not a FFL. I purchased and took delivery on a Colt Marshal (signed papers) and the gun did not meet my 3 day inspection. The seller will take the gun back with a full refund but he's worried about the "legal" way to transpire this transaction. The seller lives in California. Does it need to ship FFL to FFL? I ship to his FFL. Personal to personal transaction? Thanks for the advise.

·
Registered
794 Posts
That is a tough question Addicted. You probably need to check out the Cal DOJ website or better still, give them a call. I will be the 1st to tell you I am no expert in California gun laws, but I do know they are very restrictive, and their laws may complicate/hinder your ability to return the gun.

California is one of several states that is on the leading edge of eliminating 2nd Amendment private gun ownership. In their attempt to ban guns they have passed some of the strictest legislation on the books. This includes the so called "Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale." Meaning if the handgun is not on the approved list it CANNOT be imported to California from outside the state. If it is not on the list, once it leaves the state it can not return (by re-importing).

Their exact words are: " Effective January 1, 2001, no handgun may be manufactured within California, imported into California for sale, lent, given, kept for sale, or offered/exposed for sale unless that handgun model has passed firing, safety, and drop tests and is certified for sale in California by the Department of Justice."

So in one sense you are trying to import the gun into California. Since it is not on their "Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale" importing the gun would be illegal. However if the gun is on the C&R list, then it will make it easier to return.