Colt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
For openers, I know next to nothing about Colt revolvers.

I have an Officers Model 38, #603175, shipped October 22, 1935. It is billed as a Roper Custom (Grips/Sights/Action Job/etc.). Both the backstrap and the trigger are checkered. The checkering on both is perfect----too perfect. Add to that the fact neither the trigger nor the backstrap (nor any/all other parts of the gun) show any sign of being refinished, and I am left to conclude the checkering is from the factory----and is more likely the result of knurling or stamping rather than cutting. Am I right or wrong?

Many thanks!!

RCT

·
Registered
3,564 Posts
Hi, RCT, and welcome to the Forum. I'm still a newbie when it comes to Colt revolvers myself, but there are many, many knowledgeable members here who are willing to help. If possible, pix are always helpful.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi, RCT, and welcome to the Forum. I'm still a newbie when it comes to Colt revolvers myself, but there are many, many knowledgeable members here who are willing to help. If possible, pix are always helpful.
I have pictures----also not the first clue about how to get them from where they are to this forum. I will be happy to email them to whomever, so they may post them here. (My pictures show the backstrap, albeit not in great detail, but not (the face of) the trigger.)

RCT

·
Registered
3,070 Posts
RCT, welcome to Coltforum!

What a great way for you to enter the forum!

Your Officers Model target is absolutely magnificent, in extremely high condition and the genuine custom Roper stocks are even more magnificent!