Colt Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all! I'm pretty new here, actually, i'm pretty new to the whole field of Colt collecting and information... But, i've recently become more than just a little bit interested in 1911's & 1911A1's... My question to other forum members is, I've seen examples (pictures) of colt .45's that were supposedly sent to Russia for WWII, they appear to be 1911's, not A1's??? Why would this be?? And if so...how many are probably here in the states?? How many 1911A1's also?? thanks in advance for your comments! best to all, til...lat'r...GT

·
Registered
153 Posts
Hi GT,
At one time I had a nice collection of Colt 1911-11-A1's. Had a very nice Russian, yes they were all 1911's, not A-1's, but they were supposed to have been sent for WW 1 not WW 2, as far as how many are in the states I would say all of them. I may be wrong but I don't think any of them got to Russia.

I shot in Russia for two weeks in 1991 and did a lot of asking the "right" people and looking around in the "right" places, no luck.
IP

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by glt46:
Hello to all! I'm pretty new here, actually, i'm pretty new to the whole field of Colt collecting and information... But, i've recently become more than just a little bit interested in 1911's & 1911A1's... My question to other forum members is, I've seen examples (pictures) of colt .45's that were supposedly sent to Russia for WWII, they appear to be 1911's, not A1's??? Why would this be?? And if so...how many are probably here in the states?? How many 1911A1's also?? thanks in advance for your comments! best to all, til...lat'r...GT <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3