Colt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Gentlemen, I am a fairly new student of the Colt SAA. I have two , a 1906 and a 1996, both 4 3/4 in .45 Colt, and an engraved third one in progress at the Colt Custom Shop. The question is how to prevent the cylinder turn lines. I have looked carefully for the cause of the rotation lines. My 1906 Colt has them, the 1996 does not. The cylinder locking pawl on the 1906 was out of time and broken, I've had it fixed and it does not drag any more. It seems to me that cylinder rotation lines will only result if the mechanism is worn out of time or not adjusted properly.

So, have I properly diagnosed the source of the lines, any other considerations?

Thank you for your time.

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
When you load/unload the revolver it is at half cock. ALWAYS bring the hammer to full cock before letting it down. If you let it down from half cock the bolt will pop up halfway between the notches. You then would rotate the cylinder to lock up dragging the bolt along the cylinder producing the dreaded cylinder turn line.

And welcome to the forum..!

·
Registered
2,794 Posts
Bruce
First, Welcome to the forum.
Ratzo is right on.

To safely load your Colt with the hammer down on an empty chamber, This is the only safe way to carry a loaded Colt SAA!
Bring the hammer to half cock, load one chamber, skip one chamber, then load four chambers. Then bring the hammer to full cock & carefully lower the hammer. If you've done it properly, the hammer will now rest on the empty chamber.

You are really going to like your Colts. It sounds like you are hooked as you have one in the works from Colt.
Congratulations.
Frank

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The design of the one in progress at Colt's was developed in discussions with Bob ( R L ) Wilson, Chuck Priory and Steve Fjestad.