Colt Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Decided I would like some faux ivory grips for my brand new Model P1840 .45. I purchased this gun 2-3 years ago from a dealer who special ordered it from Davidsons for me. The serial number S64XXXA does not appear in any of the usual lookup publications, and I am not a Colt expert, so I just assumed it was a 3rd Generation and purchased grips advertised as fitting 3rd Generation only. They were waaay too big for my gun. Fitting would have required completely reshaping the entire grip. Seller said send em back with grip tracing of factory grips. I did and he says mine is a 2nd Generation grip. He has sent replacements that are on the way. I then compared the factory grips to those on a "known" (serial number fits 1979) 3rd Generation and the grips on S64XXXA Colt are larger than those on the known 3rd Generation.

So my S64XXXA's grips are larger than the grips 3rd Generation gun I own, smaller than the ones that the dealer sent as being 3rd Generation only and the tracings match those that the grip dealer says are 2nd Generations. I guess any future grip purchases will include requesting the seller to match them against tracings of the grips I wish to replace prior to parting with the moola. I hate paying shipping costs more than once. :bang_wall:

Questions

Was I correct in assuming it was a 3rd Gen? Did Colt use 2nd Gen grip frames on 3rd Gen guns? Is there a 4th Gen? :confused::confused:

Hope you can help this rookie.

·
Registered
8,494 Posts
Although there are subtle difference between generational grip frames, the fact is that ALL grip panels have to be fitted to the Frames of Colt SAA's for proper fit and finish...Although you may get lucky.

·
Premium Member
4,495 Posts