Colt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentlemen,
I'm a newbie and am hoping to get some guidence on my SAA. I bought this gun about 30 years ago as a shooter. I know little about the value of SAA's. My question is this; would it be advisable to have the piece restored to original configuation. It originally was a Calvary Colt in .45, 7 1/2' barrel. some where along the way it was rebarreled to .38 Colt 5 1/2" & a new cylinder installed. It's been this way for a long time as the metal is an even grey patina. S#828xx places it in 1881 production, No's match except no No. on barrel or cyl., frame and grip flat marked D.F.C., traces of blue on EJ rod housing and some faded case colors in protected areas. Would restoring it increase the value, and if so who would you recommend to do the job? I am, of course wondering what it would cost and what it might be worth both as is & if restored.

Iv'e posted pix at;

http://richard1.myphotoalbum.com/view_album.php?set_albumName=album01

Any info/ advise much appreciated.
Thanks,
Arbee

·
Registered
323 Posts
The toothpaste is already out of the tube, so I'd leave it as-is.
A first-generation will weather a lot of changes, but OLD changes are best!
Don

·
Registered
3,937 Posts
Welcome to the Colt Forum Arbee!

I won't be the best advisor on your SAA that the Forum can produce. I think you are in an enjoyable predicament with your old gun. Either way you decide it'll be nice to have a decent 1st generation shooter. Obviously the damage has been done. A valuable and desirable Single Action Army variation has been severely diminished. My opinion is that you really couldn't make a bad decision which way you jump.