Colt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
535 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Gentlemen,
I'm wanting to add a vintage Colt to my humble collection. It's a 1903 (?) in .380 and appears to be in 80 % or better shape. Grips are good, magazine's OK and fits ... no box, no papers. These guns are compeltely foreign to me! Revolvers and 1911's I'm pretty familiar with. Would someone walk me through a manual of arms with one of these? I used to know the army safety tests for a .45 but this thing ain't got no hammer! Is there something inherently BAD about these guns? I never see them mentioned on these pages? Are they safe? Do you carry it cocked and locked? Help me out, Cousin?

·
Registered
658 Posts
Actually, the Pocket Hammerless pistol does have a hammer, as opposed to a striker fired pistol, but it's enclosed by the slide. It's okay to carry it cocked & locked.

I've been collecting them for over 30 years. Let me know if you have any questions and I'd be glad to assist you.

·
Registered
535 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
All righty, then, Thiokol! Thanks in advance. Here's the,"short list!:" 1. How many rounds in the magazine? 2. Inertia firing pin or some safety for cocked and locked anti-drop carry? 3. The one I'm looking at is a .380. Thoughts about .32 or .380? 4. Accuracy? Are thse as good as a snubbie .38? 5. Arent't these the WWII General's gun? These'll do for a start ... thanks again, Thiokul!

·
Registered
907 Posts
Thiokol is the expert here, I have only one Model "M" in .32 (1917 vintage); but you will discover that it takes a very conscious (for me) effort to squeeze the grip safety - so much so that the slide safety is superflous - it will simply not snap unless you are gripping it firmly. So...very safe to carry with one in the pipe.