Colt Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to buy Special Combat Government pistol but the picture of the gun shows a screw in one of the holes that is on trigger. What is this and what would cause it to be seen?
Thanks for any info!

·
Registered
2,411 Posts
It's probably an overtravel screw, and why they positioned it to pass through one of the lightening holes is a mystery to me.

Buck

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,881 Posts
Positioning.
1911 trigger stop screws stop against the magazine catch.
There's nothing else in that area of the frame for a screw to contact.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I am a novice on this type of situation...does this mean there is an issue on this particular gun and it is defective or is it just a matter of tightening it ? Firearm Gun Trigger Gun accessory Gun barrel

·
Registered
65 Posts
It is a factory trigger. The pistol also came with a target that was shot at the factory so you can verify the guns accuracy potential.

·
Registered
2,411 Posts
The screw is adjusted so the the trigger just trips the sear and then stops moving to the rear. It's common on a competition gun when you are trying to wring the last bit of accuracy out of the gun. If you tighten the screw down, it won't trip the sear and the gun won't fire. If the gun is for self defense, I'd take the screw completely out and avoid a potentially fatal problem if it fails to fire when you really need it to.

An alternative is to adjust it properly and fix the screw in place with blue LocTite.

But if you don't know what you are doing, leave that to a competent gunsmith.

Buck

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,881 Posts
As above, if this is a defense gun a possibly smart move would be to remove the stop screw.
If the screw should shift, it might prevent the trigger from moving far enough to fire the gun. This could be fatal, and the screw is just one more thing to go wrong.