Colt Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,913 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After making a magnificent (and lucky) shot, the proper technique is to make a graceful and not boastful bow, then holster the gun and refrain from firing another shot that day no matter HOW much they badger you.

This will preclude you from exposing yourself as the duffer you really are.

Many a legend has died aborning by the irresistible urge to take that next shot, which you ALWAYS miss.

A small Mona Lisa smile and holstering the gun is the only proper course of action.

·
Registered
535 Posts
Been awhile since I've read any, "Sea Stories," about shooting and thought I'd chip in a couple. Once upon a time, when I was a 21 year old rookie cop, my small department had its qualifying day at the range. I had court at the same time so by the time I got to the range, our detective, who was in charge of the qualifications, was waiting and growing very impatient and it was now raining pitchforks and hammer handles. Four of us rookies had just come out of the academy and the detective says, "OK, hot shot ... you shot expert in the academy so hit this and we'll call it good." (With that, he puts an empty 12 guage shotgun shell on the target rack at about 30 feet and took his place behind me on the firing line.) To this day, I don't know what I was thinking of but I guess I was peeved at the challenge. I wasn't even in uniform - I was wearing a suit for court, as was required and was carrying my brand new Colt Cobra, not my customary 6" Official Police. As soon as he took his spot, I turned to the target, yanked out my gun and fired one shot, arm extended but hardly aimed fire - and HIT the blame shotgun shell. I played this up for all it was worth, turned to face him, did my best to, "twinkle-up," my eyes, blew the smoke from the gun ala TV cowboys and reholstered and said, "OK, what's next?" He swore a string worthy of any sailor and we went back to the PD and had coffee. I k