Colt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
LWCmdr45, I may have made a mistake on the serial number for my Detective Special. The #450xxx was hand engraved on the frame. The number #455xxx is stamped. What does Wilson say is the year for #455xxx? Since it's stamped, I'm assuming the 455 is the actual serial number, right? (Obviously, I'm new to this.)

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
LWCmdr45 must be at a barbeque. If that is the correct serial number, it only moves it up one year to 1937. Dick

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
As you probably know guns are like cars or anything else, their values all depend on condition. Blue Book values run something like this. You have to determine condition.
100% (as new in box)---$795

95%--------------------$550

80%--------------------$375
An so forth.
May be worth a little more if it's square butt, maybe a little more if nickle and so on. You have to accurately descibed the exact condition in order to put an exact price on it. These are just ballpark figures and only relevent if you are buying or selling......right now. Hope this gives some insight on value, and again value is in the eyes of the beholder and what a given buyer is willing to pay on a good day. Everything is negotiable, Dick

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hmmm, not nickle, definitely not mint, some external pitting but shoots like a charm. That brings the value down considerably but still a nice little gun.-- What is this blue book and where can I get a copy? Gibby

·
Registered
1,971 Posts
It's the "Blue Book of Gun Values by S.P.Fjestad" and is pretty much the bible for guidelines of gun values as nothing is absolute. The current edition is the 24TH.