Colt Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,734 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I bought one of the early production .22 Colt Single Action, which I recall as a Frontier Scout (?) that was the dual-tone finish, natural aluminum frame and grip frame, with blued steel cylinder, barrel and ejector assembly. Dandy little squirrel gun, by the way, nd still sorely missed. This around 1960 or so.

For the education of this old hand, what were the succeeding models and approximate dates, of that series, including the New Frontier .22s? And were the last ones steel framed?

Bob Wright

As a side note: My older brother was on a business trip in Mobile, Alabama and saw the model I wanted in a pawn shop. He called me about buying for me there, and I told him to do so. And he brought it back on the plane to Memphis. Long ago?

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,871 Posts
I'm NOT an expert on the Colt .22 single actions but the progression was:

The Scout "Q" or "F" suffix. Aluminum frame. 1957 to 1970. .22 LR, .22 Magnum after 1960. Blue, duotone, or bright finish frame. 4 3/4" or 9 1/2' Buntline barrel, interchangeable cylinders after 1964.

Frontier Scout "K" suffix. Zamac (zinc) frame. 1960 to 1970. Blue or nickel finish.

Frontier Scout '62, "P" suffix. 1962 to 1970. Blue finish, Staglite grips.

Peacemaker 22 Scout. "G" and "L" prefix serials. 1970 to 1977. Color case hardened steel frame. 4.4", 4 3/4", 6", or 7 1/2" barrels. Interchangeable cylinders. 7 1/2" barrel models may be marked as Peacemaker or Buntline.

New Frontier 22 Scout. 1970 to 1977. Flat top frame with Accro adjustable rear sight ramp front. Reintroduced with a cross-bolt safety in .22LR only, from 1982 to 1986. All blue finish was standard after 1985.

Within the Scout versions Colt sold these with a variety of grips, barrel lengths, and finishes. LOTS of commemorative models were issued.

·
Registered
319 Posts
First series had a Q suffix serial number, duotone finish 1957-58