Colt Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Slugging the bore on my 1929/30 Officers' Model, I find the internals dimensions to be .3525/.353 in the grooves and .345 on the lands!!! This is of course significantly smaller than a 9mm! I have been shooting and loading for a few months now and have yet to achive the accuracy I hope for. I cast some of my bullets and size the lead to .357, and of course jacketed are the same. Shooting jacketed bullets (even lead) that much larger than the bore is surely producing heightened pressures. What should I do? anything? unfortunately 9mm bullets don't have a crimp groove. I am waiting on a Lee .356 bullet size die to become available so I can give that a try. I wonder if this is a common issue with these guns or is this one unique? If anyone has any input I would truly appreciate it. The finish is not perfect but I absolutely LOVE this gun the action works like a dream, I never thought clicks could sound so good.

·
Registered
2,546 Posts
i don't shoot target and getting a one inch group from a handgun at 15 yards or from a rifle at 100 has never been a concern. i have slugged a lot of bores, however, and found that the range of deviation between accepted norms and individual guns can be extreme. it's normal, and the longer ago an individual piece was produced the more normal it gets. handloaders can size their bullets to address the problem to a great extent, but the pressure concerns with american ammo produced under saami specs often border on the hysterical.

guns blowing up and injuring people are rare occurrences. of course, once is too many, especially if it happens to you, but signs of high pressure -- flattened primers, difficult extraction etc. -- will occur long before a gun "blows up."