Colt Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the world of Colt DA revolvers, so I have some questions, specifically regarding D frames. First, can they take +p loads in the .38 Special models? Second, how do they compare in size, trigger reach in particular, compared to S&W K frame and the Ruger sp101? For example, the Ruger sp101's trigger reach is 2.470 inches, as apposed to 2.800 inches in the K frame, the latter of which is too far a reach for my very small hands. To put it another way, if I can reach the trigger on an sp101, can I do the same on a Colt D frame?
Also, How much more difficult is is the pull back cylinder release is compared to other types of revolvers. And since the Colts are out of production, what options do I have if I need repairs done? How much availability are their in parts and accessories? And lastly, how much do good, not mint, condition D frames sell for? Thanks for you're time.

·
Premium Member
9,820 Posts
Welcome to the Forum! Your questions are a little "broad" and some are subjective, but I will try to provide some information I hope you find helpful.

Most .38 Special revolvers will "take" +P loads. How many is the question. Moderate use is probably acceptable in newer Colt .38 Special D-frames.

I do not know about the trigger reach, but I would speculate it is less than a K-frame Smith & Wesson. (Interesting fact: the cylinder diameter on a Colt D-frame is the same as a Smith K-frame, so they take the same speed loaders!)

If you have normal manual dexterity, you should be able to pull a cylinder release about as easily as pushing one. The reported "advantage" of the Colt "pull" system is that a thumb placed on the latch while shooting will not tend to unlatch it from recoil.