Colt Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Some questions on a \"far away\" Python (1962)

I'm a newbie to the forum and ... yes, to Colt!

... Before every discovery there's a ...

Recently, I sort of tripped over a 6" blue Python with ser No. 242XX (1962?). This revolver found it's way to the far away (and not so near by) country of Sweden.
As You might imagine the buy was impossible to resist, just one year older than myself!..

Browsing this forum tought me that that the Pythons do have some tricks up their sleeves and while doing all the checks they revealed that my Python do have the timing issue many of You have described.

3 out of 6 pos in an empty cylinder will not lock at slow SA pull. In DA (and before hammer fall in SA) everything is "clicking together", it locks up like a vault in every pos before fire (SA and DA) and it does the "holes where they ought to be".

Inserting cartridges will though improve performance, timing problem is now down to 1 pos! Maybe indicating problems between the cylinder and ejector ratchet/stem?
There is a play here that is visible and obviously affecting the SA pull...

...Well, if You think You're lacking smiths skilled enoughed to handle Colts in the states You may appreciate that there is not too many smiths around this neck of the woods You want to trust with a Python timing issue!

I'm so far shooting rather mild factory loads of .357 (up until 50+ yards) and it works extremely well!!! I will though in the future shoot it at 200 yards in national competitions. No scope or other aid (factory config class).

My questions to all You folks is if this timing-problem eventually will degrade the performance to this, to put it right, "today, well performing instrument"?

...Or, does my Python need the triggerjob of Colt (or an expert smith elsewhere) to prevent bigtime break-down or can I safely have a good time enjoying this gun "as is"?