Colt Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Jeez Louise. Is nothing un-fakeable these days?? Fake guns are bad enough. I had heard of fake box labels. Now someone is making fake (or "reproduction" as the seller prefers to put it) boxes and selling them on (where else?) Ebay. See the link to item 130020159137:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Colt-45-Auto-or-4-Ba...1QQcmdZViewItem

A sad development for Colt collectors, in my view.

Charlie Flick

·
Registered
759 Posts
I'm no lawyer, but that sure looks like trademark infringement to me. I do know you just can't go around slapping other folks' logos on your stuff and then sell it without the trademark owner's permission. Colt's attorneys might be interested in this.

·
Registered
764 Posts
Re: Something Else to Worry About: Fake Colt Boxe

This guy makes a killing off of ebay. Look at the rest of the items he sells. He sells repro boxes for other colt automatics such as the model 1903 and 1908s. One must think that some bidders dont realize they are repros until it is too late............

·
Registered
1,386 Posts
Hi Charlie,

That is interesting to know! I knew there were some fake Army ordnance boxes that have been circulating for years. That guy in IL has been making them for about 25 years...

One person asked about trademark violations... I believe that Colt's TM is now in the public domain because they failed to challenge it years back... That's why you see it being used by many collectors in their "avatar"... Also for those who are model railroaders too, Union Pacific recently sued Lionel for TM violation. Lionel lost and now has to pay royalties on each car and locomotive that they sell with UP markings... UP is vigorously pursuing TM violations to keep up the TM rights... Interesting case! Bob Best

·
Registered
2,350 Posts