Colt Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have always used brass ammo in my rifles and never had any type of problems, any of you guys use steel case ammo like wolf or Tula? And if you do what are if any problems.

·
Registered
145 Posts
From what I've heard it depends on how you shoot. My understanding is that the casings have a coating on them that when the barrel gets hot it can melt and adhere to the chamber. I have read on other forums where people had a casing get stuck in the chamber and not eject. I am under the impression that if you don't do a lot of rapid firing you would be okay. Either way you should pay closer attention to cleaning your firearm just in case.

I use PMC 55gr. and I've bought 1000 rds for only $40 more so for me it's not really worth the risk or trouble of having a lodged casing ruin my day. I'm fairly new to shooting so hopefully if I'm off base someone else will chime in.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
True, my local shoppe has Tula 100 rounders for $38.99. I have a surplus of brass stuff but I would like to have some splinting ammo.Thanks for your info

·
Registered
20 Posts
Well, there's nothing in the warranty that says not too. Personally I stick with the PMC, I bought a couple thousand rounds before the hoarding started. Think I picked up a 1000 round case of 55gr for $319.00 at SG ammo back last fall.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,871 Posts
There's stories that lacquered steel cases coating will melt in the hot chamber and cause cases to stick.

First, lacquer doesn't melt. As an experiment get a fired lacquered steel case and heat it up with a torch and see if the coating melts.
Second, if there was a coating on steel ammo that would melt and cause jams, you'd think the Soviets and their allies would have discovered this after shooting billions of rounds of lacquered steel cased ammo in full-auto weapons all those years.