Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI
I AM NEW TO COLLECTING. I CURRENTLY PURCHASED SOME BEAUTIFUL COLTS AND WIPE THEM DOWN WITH TUF STUSS CLOTHS AND KEEP THEM IN BORE STORES. DO YOU THINK THIS WILL KEEP THEM IN TOP SHAPE.
ANY ADVISE WOULD BE APPRECIATED.
THANX,
JERRY

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,893 Posts
Sorry, I never heard of Tuff Stuss.

Depending on your needs, and the conditions under which you are storing the guns, you might look into using Vapor Paper and the special plastic bags for storage.

This is how the military and industry now store metal.
The special plastic bags come in pistol and rifle sizes.
These bags are made of a special "hard" plastic material that won't pass moisture.

The Vapor Paper is wrapped around the gun, and when sealed in the bags, gives off a vapor that drives moisture and air out, surrounding the gun with as vapor barrier that TOTALLY prevents rust for at least 10 years.

You can buy the bags and paper in various size sheets from Brownell's. http://www.brownells.com.

One word of warning: DO NOT use ordinary plastic baggies or storage bags for this purpose.
Ordinary plastics will allow the vapor to escape and will pass moisture.

This is the best storage method available, and has the advantage that the gun can be taken out of the bag and put directly into use with no degreasing.

For collectable guns, it protects without having to coat the metal with a heavy lube or chemical that might damage some finishes or the wood grips.

·
Registered
806 Posts
Jerry, Over the years we have done it both ways, in 'vapor' paper,or sheepskin rugs, canvas gun cases(Boyt), NEVER vinyl, they do NOT breathe and now out in the open, but they are all wiped down with 'RIG' because it works on metal, wood and plastic.
Yes, if you use a safe, doesn't hurt to use the desicant paks or even the 'golden rod'. though I have NOT used mine for years.