Colt Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings, from a newbie here.

I have a truckload of semi-auto pistols and now feel the need to get a "real" (I have a K22 and a NAA .22mag) wheelgun into my collection. I've pretty much decided my first is going to be a Python. Not a bad choice huh?

Anyway what are some tips and pointers you can give a guy who has virtually no knowledge of these guns? I've read many prior posts, but I'm a bit confused, especially with the broad range of prices. Also, how does one decipher the SN's to determine age of the gun? Anybody have a link to a chart or such? What vintage of Pythons are considered to be the finest in terms of fit, finish, accuracy, etc?

Thanks so much for any help.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
14,882 Posts
Here's a link for Colt serial numbers, but it only goes up to 1978:

http://proofhouse.com/colt/

The book "Colt: An American Heritage" by RL Wilson has numbers up to 1985, or the factory will tell you the production date over the phone.

Guns don't HAVE "vintages" as far as quality.
Guns aren't bottles of wine, and there ARE no "good years" or "bad years".

A gun must be evaluated on IT's specific merits.
I've seen guns made in the 1930's, when quality was the best ever, that were horrible.

I've seen gun made during the strike, when quality was supposed to be at the bottom, that were some of the best guns I ever saw.

Most people will tell you that guns made from 1955 to the late 1960's were the "best".
These guns also bring premium prices and are touted as "Rare, early guns", even though they are NOT "rare" and are often in much worse shape than newer guns.

Bottom line on Python shopping is: LOOK at Pythons. When you find one that looks good, is in good shape, and is in good adjustment, BUY IT.

If you buy based on just year made, you'll either pass up a great one, or buy a dog.

·
Registered
1,216 Posts