Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Colt 1911's, as well as 1911's in general. I have my first, a Wiley Clapp Gov't, coming in the mail this week. I read as much as I possibly could before I decided to purchase one. I was extremely close to placing an order for an Ed Brown and I found that when reading about premium 1911's -- Brown, Baer, Wilson -- that slide to frame fit was one of the primary things that set them apart from assembly line guns. I was just curious what you all think about the fit of new Colt models? How much wiggle does there tend to be? Do you think it even matters as much as a lot of people make it out to matter?

Thanks.

·
Registered
7,535 Posts
While slide to frame fit is important, I personally think that a hand fit slide to frame fit is overrated and not really necessary. But people do pay for that.

Current Colts do seem to have a good slide to frame fit as well as some enhanced tolerances over the Government Specified ones, which was what most Colt's were made to. With that said barrel fit is also important, especially at the breech as well as the muzzle: as in barrel to barrel bushing to slide fit.

·
Premium Member
12,780 Posts
Brown, Baer, Wilson are fine, fine firearms. But they're NOT Colt's. I'm here on the Colt Forum for a reason - I LOVE my Colt's. I've owned each one of your mentioned brands and will come back to Colt's every time. I offer up a Colt Special Combat against each of the aforementioned brands and will stand by the fit, finish and function as the standard to which all these others should be judged.

·
Registered
2,909 Posts
I could not agree more with Ken & Tony. My recent production Combat Elite has outstanding fit and finish. So do the two anniversary models I bought in 2011.

·
Banned
7,709 Posts