Colt Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My cousin was at a local gun show today and came across a guy selling an early Python with three digit serial number, 6xx. It does not have the original stocks. He sent me a few pictures, and got the guys contact info. He said the guy was asking $2500.
Here are the pictures. I'm relatively new to Pythons. What do you think?
IMG_0086.jpg IMG_0087.jpg IMG_0091.jpg

Thanks,
Al

·
Registered
1,708 Posts
It looks a little beat up but a slightly lower price and a restoration might be cool considering it is a 1956 gun... It is an easy 7k or 8k if it was 98 to 99%.. If you can buy and do a very professional level restoration total in at say 3500 it would be a great gun... Just a perspective...

P.S. - think you need to be in no more that about top 1500 to make it work..

·
Premium Member
1,515 Posts
Hard to tell in those pics if the barrel is showing bluing wear or if those are fingerprint smudges on it. Same for the area behind the cylinder on the right side. Did he comment about where it was worn?

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hard to tell in those pics if the barrel is showing bluing wear or if those are fingerprint smudges on it. Same for the area behind the cylinder on the right side. Did he comment about where it was worn?
no, he just says that the bluing looks good, but no specifics. I'll need to call him, he was texting me from the show.

·
Registered
425 Posts
A shooter Python for $2,500 is not out of range these days. That 3 digit serial number will give it a bump in price too.

I'd buy it and enjoy shooting it.

·
Registered
410 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I spoke to the owner and will try to look at it tomorrow. Anything in particular I should look for? other than the fact that the grips are not original.

·
Registered
6,223 Posts