Colt Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well I saw an add for a Police positive target in .22 WMR, serial puts DOB at 1910. She's described as having a loose cylinder, no finish and no rust for $199. I'm good with doing some work and putting some cash in the gun. My question is can the parts I would need to fix it be found? I'm hoping it would just need bolt and a maybe a worn cylinder catch or latch pin whatever its called Sorry my terminology is off I'm new to revolvers. I'm still waiting on pics should have em' tomorrow. Main thing for me is I want to shoot it........Eventually. I don't want to buy a lost cause.

·
Premium Member
12,527 Posts
I agree with John; by the time you fix everything you may well be into the gun for more than if you bought a newer, better firearm.

·
Registered
737 Posts
locdun, look carefully. Are you sure of the .22 WMR? I have a 1912 PP Target in .22 WRF. They are not the same .I'm not sure when the .22 WMR[Magnum] first became available but 1910 seems too early for the Mag. More expertise to follow,I hope,from those that know way more than me. Nick

·
Registered
6,633 Posts
I'm quite sure it's a Winchester Rim Fire, a fairly obsolete round. Though you can buy ammo for it, at least one maker has special runs. Otherwise, it would be a shelf queen. And if the condition is that poor, don't waste your time. I bought a pretty nice one in 22LR a few years ago for just $80 more, and I can shoot it and it looks nice.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
My bad that was a typo on my part. The fingertips sometimes get away from me wrf is what i meant to put. I know the deal with the ammo is well..... iffy. I just thought it might just be fun to work on but like smokey said if its gonna cost way more to fix it than I can get something ready to go for, its gonna be a no on my part.

·
Premium Member
6,472 Posts