Colt Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I got a dumb question? I'm fairly new to metalic reloading and I'm trying to work a load up for my AR-15. I am using Hornady 55gr FMJBT, H-335 powder, CCI SR Primers, and my own once fired Lake City Brass. I'm not trying to duplicate mil. ball ammo, Just want to work up an accurate target load. Here's my problem with the info.
Hornady Manual lists 20.8 grs min. / 23.2 grs max.
Speer Manual lists 24.0 grs min. / 26.0 grs max.
Nosler manual lists 23.0 grs min. / 25.0 grs max.
Hodgens manual lists 24.0 grs min. / 26.0 grs max.
My questions is which load data do you guys follow? The bullet manufacturer data or the powder manufacturer data?
Do you think if I start out at 22.0 grs I might get a squib load? This is an AR so I dont want to start to hot and wreck the rifle. I also dont want to have to beat a stuck bullet out of my barrel.
Any body have any thoughts on where to start?
The rifle is chambered .223/5.56 mm with a 16" barrel. Thanks Mikal

·
Registered
5,625 Posts
Go load some and see if it is in the region you're after.
I went over the top with a load for my (malfunctioning) rifle and it shot till it broke. Then I rebuilt the bolt & FCG and now it's fine. No more hot loads.
You must establish your own process for evaluating hand loads.
I always start out in the upper third of the range for any particular powder.
For some I go to the top of the list and reduce by 10%.
I have always gone backward from the listed data and have always had improved results.
Hotter loads don't translate into more accurate loads.
Never had a problem.
I do all my reloading on single stage equipment.
Now stop talkin' and go load some ammo and go shoot it all up.

·
Registered
1,160 Posts