Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A buddy brought his 3rd gen out today that he had Mundon work the trigger and action on...man that was smooth. If I can get one bought reasonable, who do you guys recommend do the work? Thanks for your input.

·
Registered
631 Posts
Send it off to LA Bill. Not only is he a wealth of knowledge for us DIY tinkerers here on the forum but I’ve read nothing but rave reviews regarding every aspect of his gunsmithing.

·
Registered
2,902 Posts
An awful lot of Munden's 'work' has to be re-done in order to make the weapon safe - he loved music wire springs and modifying pretty much 'everything'.

It's better to use Colt parts and do an 'actual' trigger job and honing - Jim Martin will do it 'right',as will Lever Action Bill.
After Munden died I took a cut in pay because now I don't have his work to repair anymore,out of the 63 yrs I've been doing SA work I've been fixing his guns for @ least 40 yrs. I saved some of the parts out of the guns he worked on & when I contributed to the Kuhnhaussen manual I sent them to Jerry to see,he said it was hard to believe that the parts had been modified the way they were,especially the top of the bolt.I still have one of his bolts in my inventory.

·
Registered
1,768 Posts
After Munden died I took a cut in pay because now I don't have his work to repair anymore,out of the 63 yrs I've been doing SA work I've been fixing his guns for @ least 40 yrs. I saved some of the parts out of the guns he worked on & when I contributed to the Kuhnhaussen manual I sent them to Jerry to see,he said it was hard to believe that the parts had been modified the way they were,especially the top of the bolt.I still have one of his bolts in my inventory.
I was told the bolts are grooved so that way if the bolt doesn't catch the notch on the first edge, it will catch the second.

JP

·
Registered
460 Posts