1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Premium Member
294 Posts
It was unfired, I put 6 through it with the magnum cylinder. The barrel is marked 22 LR so I wanted to see if it would shave the lead on the 22 mag ammo...
I am not an expert, this is my opinion only and I apologize of it offends you. That sounds like a rookie mistake. Colt put LR on that barrel for a reason. The ammunition that gun was designed to shoot is marked in plain sight, you even posted a picture.

·
Registered
6,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
you would be correct, and still may be if the barrel didn't measure .224 ;)
I am not an expert, this is my opinion only and I apologize of it offends you. That sounds like a rookie mistake. Colt put LR on that barrel for a reason. The ammunition that gun was designed to shoot is marked in plain sight, you even posted a picture.

·
Premium Member
3,833 Posts
I have seen a couple of these in person (NIB). They do exist but are relatively "rare".

·
Registered
6,466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I'll be darned. Thanks guys, the 22lr marking on the barrel threw me and made me believe it was something done later. I guess I should have checked here first. Will be a fun shooter, thanks for the info. Guess I better order a letter from Colt :D

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,891 Posts
You sometimes rarely saw Convertible Colt .22 revolvers, usually made on customer special order from Colt.
The one I knew for sure was a factory job was a Colt Officer's Model Match.
In the old days they came with the complete cylinder assembly including the crane, which was numbered to the frame.
This was because of the difficulty in disassembling the old style cylinder assembly.

Since the new style cylinder assembly as used on the Mark III was much simpler and easier to disassemble, it looks like Colt just dropped a fitted cylinder and ejector in the box.