Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Afternoon all! This is my first post here on Colt Forum. I've been lurking, reading, and learning from many of you here for over a year now.

I've always loved the way SAAs looked, and wanted one for a long time. As I quickly learned, finding a new Colt SAA at a LGS is a bit tough -- and I'm not experienced with online sales. I searched for a year or two before settling on an Uberti. Figured I'd rather learn the ins and outs on a less $$ SAA clone anyway. I've enjoyed shooting the Uberti. Out of the blue a month or two back, a contact at LGS called me. He remembered me always asking around about a real Colt SAA, and said he had a new P1850 coming in. Naturally, I ran down and left a deposit. I'm thrilled to be picking it up today. My first Colt revolver...and I'm sure it won't be my last. I definitely caught the fever seeing all the amazing examples posted here.

So this first post comes with a question. My Uberti has a VERY pronounced turn ring, all around the cylinder. I noticed it early on, after firing only around 100 rounds...with maybe an additional 50 dry fires. I knew from reading here at CF never to lower the hammer from anywhere other than full cock. Every time I drew the hammer on the Uberti, it went all the way to full cock before being lowered or fired -- and the hammer has never been lowered from anywhere else. So my question: to the knowledge of you guys here, is there anything else I could be doing wrong that produced the turn line? This Colt is going to be a shooter, and I know it will develop character over time. But I'm asking because I'd rather not needlessly and prematurely ding it up. And if I could be doing something wrong, I'd rather not repeat the same results on the the more $$ Colt.

While I'm here posting: what are your feelings/recommendations on dry firing SAAs.