Colt Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there Colt fans,

As a Colt newbie I'm curious what the twist rate is of a Peacekeeper? Shortly I hope to own a NIB Peacekeeper.
Can anybody tell me more about the Peacekeeper?. I know they are produced from 1985 to 1989. When I have the gun I will post the serial number to get the year of production.

Thanks

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,229 Posts
Colt uses a 1 turn in 14" rifling twist.
This faster twist is one reason for Colt's reputation for better accuracy.

The Peacekeeper is an unpolished, black finished Colt Trooper Mark V.

When Colt did a slight redesign of the Trooper Mark III, the resulting gun was known as the Trooper Mark V.

The difference between the Mark III and the Mark V was, the Mark V had:
A new barrel with vents in the rib.
A new cast steel hammer and trigger, which was Colt's first "short action".
A longer mainspring with a relocated seat.
A rounded butt frame.

These changes were intended to improve the trigger pull and update the appearance.

In 1985 to 87, during the big Colt strike, Colt didn't have enough polishers still working to enable them to keep production up.
So, Colt introduced a series of unpolished, black finished revolvers.

These included:
The Commando which was an unpolished Detective Special.
An unpolished Cobra and Agent.
And an unpolished Trooper Mark V made as the Peacekeeper.

Internally, the Peacekeeper was as well finished as the polished Mark V, but had a rough black finish and Colt medallion-ed Pachmayr Gripper rubber grips.

These unpolished guns were not very popular, and as soon as the strike ended, they were discontinued.

Later in the 1980's, Colt added a new profile barrel to the Mark V, made it in stainless and blued steel and sold it as the King Cobra.

Like all the Trooper Mark III, Mark V, and King Cobra guns, the Peacekeeper is an extremely strong, durable gun.