Colt Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
\"Unusual\" Police Positive

I may well have picked up an example of the rare 7.5" Police Positive .38s(fixed sights) that Henry Stebbins mentions in one of his books seeing as a kid in the 1910s in a store in Portland,Maine. Guns were special order for Maine trappers.

Gun is reblued(non factory), but all else seems "original". Seller figured gun had been "gunsmithed"-more I studied it over the weekend,the more my less than $200 cost seems a bargain-and its a great shooter!

Gun was made in 1910---and I live in Maine.

Bud /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

·
Registered
3,936 Posts
Re: \"Unusual\" Police Positive

That is definitely unusual in my book. Glad you snapped it up. I like old Police Positives. Why do you suppose the trappers liked the long barrel? I'd like to see a photo of such a piece.

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: \"Unusual\" Police Positive

Trapping tended to be done in the winter,gloves were worn,heavy gloves that covered the wrists,so a handgun could be shot like a rifle,with one hand on the barrel. Gloves protected from the blast/debris by cylinder.

Harrington Richardson had a solid frame .22,with the long barrel,called the "Trapper" in 1900-1930 period(the also had one called the "Hunter".) BOTH were fixed sighted,as many adjustable sights at the time were NOT rugged enough to stand up to the vigorous carry by outdoorsmen.

Back to my "unusual Police Positive". On pg. 36 of his 1961 book,"Pistols,A Modern Encyclopedia",Stebbins comments on these guns,and the fact always stuck with me,probably cause I was brought up in Portland,Maine,but not born 'til 1943.