Colt Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to using vintage firearms,I am trying to come up with a load for my new toys Winchester 1873 1884vintage 44/40 and a Colt frontier six shooter 1894 vintage 44/40.I have been shooting the winchester with accurate 5744 15gr 205gr lead.Everthing I read says not to do this with the colt.I was thinking of using 13gr 5744 and filling the case to prevent pressure spikes.I have shot the colt with goex clear shot 200gr lead everything high at 50/60 feet.Any creative idea's on adding on the front sight without altering the gun?Or anybody have load suggestions.Thanks

·
Registered
420 Posts
I have an 1890 Colt 41 SAA black powder frame revolverand have used 180 grain ammo w/o problems. Check out Ultra Max website and what they have to offer for smokless ammo for black powder frames.

·
Registered
562 Posts
DON'T I say again DON'T! fire smokeless powder ammo in a weapon made for black.

It develops almost twice the pressure of BP or BP substitutes to send a slug downrange at apx. the same vel. or less. The only advantage is it's less messy.And BP cleanup isn't that hard.

Evan if you don't blow the gun up, you will for sure loosen it up.

Altho Colt & S&W's will probebly handle LIGHT smokeless loads w/o scattering it will for sure do them no good.

I don't claim to be a expert, but when it comes to electricity & explosives I listen to them. And they all agree BAD PLAN.

·
Registered
173 Posts
I sure do agree with this. Old blackpowder revolvers are intent to shoot blackpowder. I realy dont like to shoot even the lowest nitro loads in it. It stresses your frame and sure looses it up. There was a complete discussion on the S&W forum about this. They couldend convince me to do otherway than to shoot blackpowder only.

·
*** ColtForum MVP ***
15,677 Posts
Re: Using light smokeless load black powder frame