Colt Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm a newbie here and have a couple of questions. After cruising the auction sites for pythons I have noticed that all pythons with black grips are usually about 200.00 cheaper than the same python with other style grips. Why is this? To me, for 200.00 you could put any grip on them that you wanted to and have 150.00 to spare. Remember I am a newbie so there must be a logical explanation for this that I am not aware of. Next question is what year would a Python with an A suffix be made in?
Thanks for any help,
Wes Hardin

------------------
Learn To Listen

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
While you cruise the auction sites look at the prices of the genuine wood Python stocks and also note how many you see. That $200 may not seem that excessive then.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I see, found none on the gun site but found many on ebay and were much more expensive than the rubber ones. they still were all under 80.00 but bidding wasn't over yet. anyone know the BOD for a python with an a suffix in the serial 3#.
thanks for your reply magic,
Wes Hardin

·
Registered
794 Posts
Majic makes a very good point about the value of the wood stocks.

As ridiculous as it seems to me, some people are willing to pay up to $100 and more for factory Python target stocks in LN condition. And many sellers know what the stocks alone can sell for with the right buyer. So that alone could account for the anomaly you describe. I wouldn't put it past some sellers to sell the wood stocks separately and then fit a cheaper set of rubber to sell the gun.

However, I search the auction sites routinely and have not noticed what you describe as a general rule.