Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought this Colt 1911 at an estate auction last weekend. Serial # is 392XXX which, according to my research, means made in 1918.
Can anybody tell me anything about it? It is not U.S. marked. Just says Government Model.
It seems to be in very good mechanical condition. I really want to shoot it. Anything that I need to be careful of ?
Will it shoot modern ammo ok ?
Thanks in advance for your input.

Attachments

·
Registered
7,951 Posts
Can't be 1918.
Your pistol is a Colt Government Model and the slide and stocks indicates post WWII manufacture. I believe the serial number should have a C prefix. Can you post a picture of the other side? Block out the last few digits if you desire.

·
Registered
237 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'm no expert by any means. I own a 1991A1 and a Series 70 and I just liked the looks of this one.
When I said 1918, I was going by a table of Colt serial numbers that I found on the internet. So, are these tables not reliable?
I don't see a C prefix.
So, what year do you think it was made and why ?
Thanks for your help.

Attachments

·
Registered
11,356 Posts
The tables are reliable, but something is suspicious about the pistol. I believe you have a Colt Government Model slide on an aftermarket receiver. There are no Colt markings on the receiver.

·
Registered
9,792 Posts
'Back In the Day', when aftermarket receivers first became available, one could buy 'numbered but unmarked' receivers from 'Crown City' and 'Essex Arms' (and probably more), if you bought in groups of a couple of dozen.

Parts were plentiful - especially GI parts, but Commercial, as well - and assembly was a breeze - putting a lot of affordable pistols into circulation.

There were no in-depth studies on the Service Pistol and most sellers/buyers just didn't care all that much when price point drove the transactions.

This is likely one of those.

·
Registered
7,951 Posts