Colt Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
Im new to the forum and this is my first post. I know there are people on here that have a lot of knowledge on this gun. I am new to the world of collecting and am trying to collect the colt snake revolvers. I currently own a king cobra .357 and have a opportunity to buy a "viper". My question is this, what do I look for to verify if this thing is fake or not? The serial number is 65433r but when i look it up on colts website it comes back as built in 1978. I know they were only built in 1977. Does this mean its not a true viper? Thanks for any help anyone might be able to give. By the way it definitely has some wear to it and it does not have a box. I can buy it for $1000, is that too much? Sorry for all of the questions, thanks!

·
Premium Member
1,343 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

I happen to own Viper serial number 61XXXR, which has been lettered as being shipped in March of 1978. I recognize 1977-1978 as the production time frame for the first series Viper. The second series was a short run of blued Vipers in about 1993. In all probability, the Viper you are looking at is legitimate, however I have heard stories of Cobra frames being mated with Viper barrels (from Numrich - https://www.gunpartscorp.com/ad/261830.htm) and being marketed as Vipers. The only way to be 100% certain, is to order a Colt Archives Letter on the gun.

As for value, I am sure there are others that can join the discussion and help you.

Best of luck!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
The price tag in the pic says 1799.00.
yes, its at a pawn shop that i frequent and have bought many guns from. i am friends with the owner and he knows im into colt revolvers. that is my price, everyone else he said he would do $1500 on it. i have it on layaway there now, just wanted to verify value and authenticity.

·
Premium Member
1,343 Posts