Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
3,899 Posts
I’ve got one a friend gave me and it’s a real tack driver. Imported by Beeman and you don’t see them very often. 177 caliber, mine has the original black plastic grips with thumb rest for a right hand shooter. I’m guessing your pearl grips are imitation but can’t tell without having them in hand. You’ll really enjoy backyard plinking with that one.

·
Premium Member
3,341 Posts
I know nothing about those but the grips look very much like real MOP. If so that’s quite a find!

Reactions: sublimert70

·
Registered
974 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My first reaction was that the grips are mop; not imitation. I still think they are genuine but I am not an expert. Here are a few pics. The right panel is not smooth; hopefully the pics will show it.
I tried to remove the grips but they’re stuck on there pretty good.

·
Premium Member
3,341 Posts
I’m almost positive (like 99%) those are REAL! Very cool find!

If stuck, I wouldn’t remove them because you might chip or crack them. Just leave them and add $$$ to the gun if you ever sell it.

·
Registered
722 Posts
That is a newer model Tempest imported thru California. The earlier ones simply said Made in England on them and had no import stamps on them. I’ve had two in my life, an original when I was a teen 30+yrs ago and a LNIB one I got off eBay like 10yrs ago. They are built like tanks. You’ll get approx 400fps out of it if the seals and o-rings are still in good shape. With Beeman pellets it’s a tack driver.
There was a slightly different version called the Hurricane which had a front peep sight and slightly longer barrel.

·
Registered
3,899 Posts
If you want to know if your grips are real MOP all you have to do is scrape your 2 upper front teeth over the grip surface. If it feels rough then it’s real pearl and if it feels smooth it’s imitation.

·
Registered
9,801 Posts