Colt Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I picked up a Nickle SAA yesterday and I am not sure what I have. I am a novice at this and I would appreciate some input. I will try to add some pictures. This frame has 3 lines for the patent information and the Horse is inside a circle. It is a black powder style frame. The serial number is 3 digits with a letter -a number - and a letter stamped above the serial number in a slightly different font. It is a very nice gun but I am wondering about some of the markings. There is no caliber listed on the barrel and it is listed as 44-40 on the hammer end of the cylinder. Inside the grips the same letter-number-letter sequence is marked and the grips do say Colt Hartford CT inside them. I am not sure if this is something someone has made from a mixture of parts or if it is an old gun that has been refinished with parts replaced or if it is a new gun with some type of custom work and custom serial number.

7430.jpg 7433.jpg 1.jpg

·
Registered
1,066 Posts
It is a Parts gun with a renumbered antique frame. Since the frame pre dates 1899 there is nothing to worry about legal wise. It is against the law to possess a gun with an altered or removed manufacturer's applied serial number made after 1898. Years ago when I worked as a smith in a shop we used to apply numbers like this to pre 68 long guns with no factory serial numbers. I don't know if the ATF asked for this to be done or what the reason was but I have seen it on mare then a few guns with different initials. Long guns did not require numbers until after the 1968 gun control act.

·
Registered
2,514 Posts
First off, welcome to the forum!

One thing I can tell you is that it's a 1st gen frame produced sometime in 890; sometime within that year are the only guns with the 3 date-3 line patent date stamp was used with the full circled colt together. The serial # range is ~ 131000 to ~ 137000.