Colt Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks WS23. Guess I will stick with the snakes. Only one more to find. But that bear is attractive.

·
Registered
2,351 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by imthduke:
I am a newbie....but eager to learn colts....what is a Kodiak? Saw one for sale.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
The Kodiak is essentially an Anaconda with unfluted cylinder, ported barrel, a unique set of pachmayer grips, and different roll markings...."Kodiak", paw print, etc.. Colt also produced a cousin called the Grizzly, which was basically a SS King Cobra with unfluted cylinder, ported barrel, same grips as the Kodiak, and with "Grizzly" and paw print roll markings. I tend to believe the 2000 Kodiak, and 500 Grizzly production numbers, because I've run across several Kodiaks, and was able to purchase one with little effort. The Grizzly was a five year search, and I located two in the same week. Haven't laid eyes on one since. I do know, that if the 500 number is correct, there are now only 499, because I have the barrel, cylinder, grips,and internal parts that were purchased after one went through a police chop shop, and the frame was destroyed. I hope the idiot responsible for that one is happy. Anyway, that's it in a nutshell...Happy hunting!

·
Registered
794 Posts
As I said in the other post, 1000 Grizzlys. The Blue Book is wrong. It's not a guess, it's not faith, it's not a belief. It's a fact.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Just picked up a NIB Grizzly at the Phoenix gun show this weekend. It was the only one I've ever seen. Paid $750. It sure felt like a lot of money but I'm sure I got a great deal.

·
Registered
794 Posts
You DID get a great deal! And yes $750 is still a lot of money. But not for what you got.

I'd say you scored. No go out and find its mate, the Kodiak!

·
Registered
4,653 Posts
So, you're the one who bought the Grizzly.