Colt Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, newbie here. I have been wanting a 1911 for some time and I keep coming back to a Colt, probably because a Colt was my first pistol, a Peacemaker 22mag revolver given to me by my dad. I am sure this question has been posted but I am having no luck finding this info, probably not wording my question right in the search function.

What should I look for if buying a used Colt 1911? I am looking for an original Colt not a parts gun or mix and match of 1911 components, if that makes any sense?

I am looking at a Colt Combat Commander w/ a 7 round mag for about $700. I just want to make sure I am getting a good deal on an original gun.

Sorry if this question has been beat to death but any help or advice or links to help me with my question would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
419 Posts
the easiest and safest way is to bring someone with you that knows Colt 1911s. try for 'new in box', or close to it. don't be too concerned about 'getting that good deal'. in reality, you can never pay too much for a real Colt, sometimes you just buy too early.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Long article, but I couldn't find the original URL....

Buying a Used Semi-Automatic Pistol

by Patrick Sweeney

Buying a used pistol for defense is not difficult. It just takes some persistence and a bit of work.

There are two easy ways to stay safe: shop at a store you know with a good reputation, and buy a model you are familiar with. Buying from someone you met at a gun show can net you a deal. Or a bench queen. Also, if you have no familiarity with a model (Glocks, Sigs, 1911s) then you have to do your homework before buying one. Otherwise you risk finding later you’ve bought something that seemed like a deal but wasn’t.