Colt Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New member here and I'm new to Colt revolvers but I'm definitely not new to revolvers. I've got a modest collection of pre-1980 S&W Revolvers. I've always had an admiration for the Python's just never had the opportunity to add one to the collection. A few months back I purchased a NIB S&W M28-2 from an acquaintance who had inherited it from his Grandfather. He mentioned that his Grandfather also left him a Python. He likes guns but he's not a vintage revolver aficionado so he said he "might" be interested in selling the Python as well. In our jobs we have the chance to talk on the phone on occasion, so I've steered the conversation back to guns and the Python a couple of times trying not to seem too interested. I believe he is ready to talk business on the Python. Here is what I've been able to find out. It was his Grandfather's truck gun. Grandpa always carried this Python and a sawed-off double barrel 12 ga in his vehicle, plus a 38 pocket pistol (wish I'd known grandpa- sounds like my kind of guy). My friend has had the gun a "long time" and he "thinks" it's from the 60's or 70's has a 6" barrel and is Nickel plated. I've looked up Blue Book values and looked on GB so I've got some ideas of value but I've still got some questions that maybe you guys can help me with.
  • Are the "checkout" procedures for Colt similar to a S&W? Anything different or special to look for in fit and function on a used Colt?
  • Does the Nickel finish go all the way back to the early years of Python production or did it start later?
  • If the original box isn't included are there any marks or designations on the gun to indicate if Nickel is the original finish?
  • Is the 6" a desirable barrel length? How common is it compared to the other lengths?