Colt Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3,886 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What's wrong with this picture of a Colt SAA sn 101196, shipped June 13, 1883?:confused:
OK, you experts...lets give the "novices" a chance to answer first!!!!!:D

·
Registered
4,841 Posts
I am a total novice on old SAA's but I also don't think the VP stamp was used that early and the 44 CF stamped at that location seems wrong. In fact the 44 CF itself seems wrong is that supposed to mean 44 center fire? Was that designation actually used?

·
Registered
2,131 Posts
It is a darn good thing Parsons didn't see this Single Action before he wrote his book in 1950, otherwise we'd have the majority of Colt Single Action reference books claiming the VP stamp started in 1883 instead of the also incorrect date of 1902. Wow, a transition period from 1883 to 1905 instead of 1902 to 1905 would really be hard to wrap your mind around! :D

·
Registered
2,514 Posts
I'm no expert, but I'll still leave the answers to others although IMO they already got it if that's what you were looking for.

I'm curious as to the actual chambering of the this gun which I believe has been converted.
44 CF could mean:

44 Henry Center Fire (converted firing pin on a 44 Henry RF gun or converted from any other center fire cartridge)
44 Colt (1st choice)
44 S&W American
44 S&W Russian
44 S&W Special
44-40 WCF

·
Registered
3,886 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
The rest of the story:

The 44 CF stamp is correct according to A STUDY OF THE COLT SINGLE ACTION ARMY REVOLVER, page 42:
"This "44 CF" stamping was used by the factory to designate .44 caliber centerfire chambering until late 1885. A placement change for the stamping, from the rear trigger guard flat to the left-front trigger guard bow, was in progress during the 45000 to 50000 serial number range."

As a side note, it is also interesting that on page 50-51 they make this comment: