Colt Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As the title says, I have a question regarding the operation of the magazine catch/release. I'm no stranger to semi-auto's, or magazines, but I'm a real novice when it comes to the Woodsman. I've seen the exploded drawings, and read the downloaded manual. The manual speaks to mag removal, but not insertion.... now to my question....

...when removing the magazine, the magazine catch must be manually operated rearward to release the magazine... got that part.....

...but, when inserting the magazine, does the magazine catch need to be manually rotated forward (towards the muzzle) to lock the magazine in place, or is the magazine catch supposed to latch by itself when the magazine is fully inserted. On my pistol, (3rd model Match Target... 1965 vintage) I have to manually rotate the catch forward to retain the magazine. Is somethin' broke, or not?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
9,514 Posts
Nothing is broken on your pistol. That is the way it is designed to operate. If you study the latch, you will see there is nothing that would cause it to "latch itself" when the magazine is inserted. If you want magazines to "self-latch," you will need to get a Second Model.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, Judge. I appreciate your reply. It's not a case of how it functions, as much as knowing the pistol is functioning properly. I'm still learning on this platform.

Just out of curiosity, was there any specific reason that Colt moved away from the push-button mag release?

·
Premium Member
1,059 Posts