Colt Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm interested in trying my hand at bullseye. I'm very new to the sport so perhaps it's just a lack of exposure to the norms but I never hear much talk about the Woodsman for use in Bullseye. Are they just not used much or am I mistaken?

How does the Woodsman Match Target stack up against the Ruger MKIV, not just in accuracy but fit and finish? I have a MKIV Competition and while a fun pistol to shoot, I'm not all that impressed with the fit and finish. The upper rattles like an AR15 and at less than 1k rounds, the bolt face is peened up... apparently a common problem caused by the bolt stop.

Did any of the Woodmans get the hand fit treatment?

I haven't handled many and it's been a long time since I've even seen one.

·
Registered
6,262 Posts
In fit and finish, the Woodsman is from another era, when those things mattered a lot. Comparing it to a Ruger is like comparing an Early American windsor chair to an Ikea put together yourself chair.
Accuracy, it's the luck of the draw, you may get a good one, or a worn out one with an antique, 50 year old Colt. With a Ruger, you may get an accurate one, or not so accurate, because of automated manufacturing flaws that crop up and aren't noticed.

If you want a good .22 Auto for Bullseye, get a High Standard Trophy or a Browning Medalist, or a Hammerli.

·
Registered
473 Posts
In fit and finish, the Woodsman is from another era, when those things mattered a lot. Comparing it to a Ruger is like comparing an Early American windsor chair to an Ikea put together yourself chair.
Accuracy, it's the luck of the draw, you may get a good one, or a worn out one with an antique, 50 year old Colt. With a Ruger, you may get an accurate one, or not so accurate, because of automated manufacturing flaws that crop up and aren't noticed.

If you want a good .22 Auto for Bullseye, get a High Standard Trophy or a Browning Medalist, or a Hammerli.